Stuffed Animal Sleepover

I created this slideshow for a Stuffed Animal Sleepover at my previous library. We hosted this as a two-part registered event limited to 25 children. My partner and I hosted both events and took the photographs together; the evening after the Drop-Off event, I created this slideshow, which I told as a story at the Pick-Up event. When I do this again, I will certainly use a digital camera and a laptop with Power Point, but at the library where I worked at the time, those resources were not really an option. Instead, I took all the photos with an iPad Mini and used the FlowVella app to make the slide show.

Drop-Off event: Tuck in your animals and leave them at the library along with a short survey (we asked about the animal’s favorite games and foods, so we could take pictures that matched the child’s interests). We did a storytime-style event with a few songs and a book: The Snatchabook by Helen Docherty.

Pick-Up event: Enjoy a snack and watch a slideshow story of what your animal did in the library overnight. I told the story as the slideshow progressed; when it was over, they demanded an encore.

Hide and Seek: can you see the hidden stuffed animal?!

It was a truly enormous amount of work, but the overwhelming positive reactions from children and adults made up for that. More than one of the adults in attendance actually took the time to email the department and thank us for the excellent program. The slideshow presentation has since then managed to collect over 870 replays – I have no idea how it got so large, but I’m thrilled! If you’re interested in doing a Stuffed Animal Sleepover, be warned – it takes a lot of work to do it right, but your patrons will love you for it.

Leave a Reply

