Art Attack: Suncatchers

This is a really popular idea that I first found on Pinterest, where there are pretty much endless variations. I’ve done this project twice: once for Mother’s Day with butterflies, and again for an Apple-themed fall storytime. I like this project because it has an interactive, sensory process, but also a really beautiful product that stands out from all the other glue-sticks-and-construction-paper stuff that toddlers can make. Some of the strongest positive reactions I’ve gotten from parents have been to this art project; both times, all my extras went home with them for siblings or friends to finish.

For the butterflies, I hand cut the frames out of colored paper (crazy, I know – after this I swore to stick to die-cuts). Next, I cut my contact paper into 8×10 rectangles – smaller than the edge of the frame, but bigger than the butterfly. I peeled off the backing, stuck the butterfly frame to the contact paper, and reapplied the backing for storage until it was time for the program. To make the colored ‘glass,’ I used multicolored cellophane. I crinkled it, then cut each sheet into small, semi-random shapes. The process was exactly the same for the apples, but with the use of my friendly die cut machine.

If you run out of contact paper like I did with just a few frames left to prep, packing tape works well – it’s just much harder to set up since you have to line up all those strips of tape and it doesn’t come with a built-in non-stick backing.

Leave a Reply

